What are the benefits of drinking Hydrogen Water? HFactor Water

20160425_120531-2

When I had an opportunity to sample Hfactor Hydrogen Water, I was only hoping it would lower my dehydration level and switch up my normal water>>dehydrated>>water>> dehydrated>>cycle. However, once I began researching the studies on hydrogen rich water, I realized that Hfactor is more like a supplement than just a bottled water.

I have been given this product as part of a product review through the Chronic Illness Bloggers network. Although the product was a gift, all opinions in this review remain my own and I was in no way influenced by the company.

One of my conditions called Dysautonomia, causes me to be perpetually dehydrated. I drink about 200 oz of old fashioned H2O every day, and still, I’m always dehydrated. Those with Dysautonomia are forever in search of fluids that will hydrate well and lessen fatigue, all without spiking/dropping blood sugar. Many drinks that promise hydration or energy are also artificially sweetened, and are also short-acting in benefit. Hfactor’s company suggests drinking 2 packs per day, and if this infusion of hydrogen water could turn my water guzzling into part time instead of full time, I’m interested.

According to my research, hydrogen infused water can improve circulation, performance, speed recovery, balance blood sugar, and lower inflammation.

20160505_145031.jpg

Through digestion, the hydrogen acts as an anti-oxidant, fighting free radicals, and lowering inflammation. (Free radicals can damage cells and set off a negative chain reaction.)

Hydrogen infused water and saline have been studied in physical conditions and symptoms like muscle fatigue, periodontitis, pancreatitis, gingivitis, allergies, diabetes, cancer treatment side effects, bladder pain in Interstitial Cystitis, healing in severe burns, hypertension, brain injury, Parkinson’s, Mast Cell Activation, and all of these studies reported positive results.

In studies on patients, mice, and elite athletes, the hydrogen rich water ingested orally, effects the body through the digestion process. There are benefits of inhaling hydrogen, and from IV saline, however it seems that during digestion there is a reaction to the hydrogen water which sets off a chain in the body, producing benefits.

According to studies, the effects of hydrogen rich water to your health are progressive. The longer and more regularly you drink it, the more improvement it will show. The company, Hfactor, suggests to drink 2 waters each day, and always within 30 minutes of opening the package. I think of HFactor Water as a health supplement rather than just an energy drink.

20160505_145137

My first impression was HFactor’s packaging looks pretty rad and reminded me of Capri Sun from back in the day. The special packaging is designed to keep the tiny little hydrogen molecules from escaping, but I wonder if there’s another benefit? If you have a child with Autism, Seizure disorder, or Diabetes, HFactor’s kid-friendly packaging and easy-to-sip-from straw might make this water more attractive to a child who might ordinarily only go for a sugary drink.

HFactor tastes like water. Crisp water, with no aftertaste or carbonation (can you tell, I’m picky about water?). Personally, since all I drink is water, I’m quite happy not to sip an artificial-tasting, sugary drink loaded with chemicals. Most beverages affect my blood sugar, but studies show that hydrogen infused water can actually help to control blood sugar.

I drank 2 packs of HFactor every day for a week, and by the end of the week, I noticed my fatigue lessening. It seemed to lessen my brain fog (cognitive disturbance), which is always something I’m after. Each time I drank a package, it caused my head pain to worsen, and some neurological reaction was telling me something was happening, but I should note that many drinks do trigger my pain to increase. I am curious if this was a reaction to the introduction of hydrogen, and if I continued to drink Hfactor regularly over time, if the worsening pain might subside? I like that the product is made in the USA, and the packaging has a low carbon footprint. It is meant to be torn open to place the straw inside, although with my fatigue and pain playing on high mode that week, I used scissors to cut them open instead. At $3 per package, taken more like a health supplement, drinking 2 per day is something I would have to consider. If I were a coffee drinker or chugged sports drinks each day, I would easily be able to justify only $6/day extra.

HFactor can be purchased at http://www.hfactorwater.com/

HFactor Water has been recognized globally for their water and specially designed packaging. This is a quote from their 2015 FoodBev Innovation Awards acceptance press release: “Until now, previous hydrogen products in the global market were manufactured utilizing magnesium and chemical processes. Products were hitting shelves contained in packaging that scientifically could not maintain the integrity of their hydrogen-enriched claims.”

20160422_102113-2

The most important take-away for me is that HFactor Water is an anti-oxidant rich drink, with anti-inflammatory benefits that can raise my energy over time, help balance blood sugar, and has more positive effects the more I drink it.

For me, this was just a fun opportunity to sample new water, and as I researched the benefits of Hydrogen Water, I realized that this is a very real emerging health tool and I’m excited to share the information with you.

 

HFactor shares more research on Facebook  & Twitter  @HFactorLife

About abodyofhope

I do not know why it is that we must wade through tragic circumstances to find truth. We nearly drown! But under the water, there are pearls. I hope in writing this blog, more will come to the surface. Over the past 13 years living with chronic pain, patient advocacy has affected my life through so many remarkable young people, women and men: SURVIVORS. These individuals are HOPE personified. I wish to honor them in the same spirit they have encouraged me to press on. Six years ago, I became bed-bound from a variety of chronic illnesses after a procedure meant to help the pain condition I had been managing for several years- went bust #BIGTIME. In the last 6 years, my entire life has changed. I have changed, but I am still striving to live my best life possible. Along with sharing inspiring pieces, medical/holistic research, and awareness articles, this blog is also an attempt to put my own pieces back together. Welcome to A Body of Hope, and thank you for visiting. [Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/ RSD, Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), Dysautonomia, Chronic Intractable Migraine, Cluster headache, Trigeminal Neuralgia, Occipital Neuralgia, Hypersensitivity to Sound & Light, Fibromyalgia, Cerebrospinal Fluid Imbalance......blah, blah, blah] >>> P.S. My headgear is protective for pain. I just rock it hard.

Posted on May 6, 2016, in Medical Research/ Treatments, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Life with an Illness

*Tips and tricks on how to get through life when you have a chronic illness*

My Instruction Manual

I never learned how to live, not really. So I decided to write a guidebook, an instruction manual” for how to be happier, healthier and more productive.

A Heart For Chelle

A raw and honest account of life on the heart transplant wait list

chronicjoymin.wordpress.com/

Radical hope. Compassionate change. 501(c)3 non profit

Athlete On Steroids

Powerlifting, fitness and life with adrenal insufficiency

Holding Patterns and High Tea

all my benevolent monsters

CHRONICALLY COOKING 🍳 WITH FIRE

Cooking with Chronic Illness'

On The Right Path

Promoting happiness, while living with CRPS and mental health disorders

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

The Crow Diaries

Life, Love, and Everything Else

painintheBECK

Pain + Perserverence + A Sense of Humor= Living Each Day, One at a Time

The Invisible Warrior

Living, Learning, and Loving with chronic illness

As Ellie

Making the most out of life as a chronically ill teenager and trying to make a difference.

mySestina

glory of words

Eponine Josette

"It's such a liability to love another person."

